Preparing for a startup auction

This is my first time participating in an ottoneu League. I have an auction for a startup league in 2 weeks. What are some ways I can prepare? Are there mocks available? Player rankings/values? Can I preset my player values prior to the auction?

Any help is appreciated. Thank you

1 Like

On the one hand, an Ottoneu mock seems cool. On the other, I hear that new league drafts in Ottoneau easily take 6+ hours, and who wants a mock like that?

Just do 2 rounds… I just want to get a sense for how it works

Video of an auction:

3 Likes

Man that’s awesome! Thanks friend

Can anyone tell me how long before the auction actually starting you can access the auction screen to create a watchlist and prepare etc?

If you go to your league home page, you will see an “Auction Draft” link (left-most in the sub-menu below your league name). You can click this to go to the Auction Draft room right now and prep, get a feel for the page, etc.

It’s been slightly redesigned since the video @Mulligan posted was made.

Thanks, but I can’t seem to see it as you’ve described. Perhaps it is because my league (883) still needs owners?

Oh, yeah if your league isn’t full yet you won’t see the auction room. But as soon as it fills up you will be able to start prepping!

OK cool, thanks

How many players can we add to the watch list before the draft? Can we set pre-draft values?

There isn’t a limit to the size of the draft watchlist. You cannot set values anywhere other than in your head / in a spreadsheet / on a piece of paper. I recommend using all three often :slight_smile:

Google Sheets is a wonderful thing :+1:

I’m sure you receive unsolicited advice constantly, but… would it be good to allow people to set values so they don’t have to spend several hours drafting (whether it’s all 1 day or spread out among multiple days)?

1 Like