Resources for *new* ottoneu Fantasy Baseball owners

Are you new to the game of Ottoneu? This is the perfect forum for you. Ask your questions here, get a feel for the game, and get prepared for your first season of the best fantasy game around.

What is Ottoneu?
10 Tips for Ottoneu Rookies

1 Like

For those new to Ottoneu preparing for their first Ottoneu auction draft, here’s a video of the draft room:

More details on the Ottoneu auction: http://www.fangraphs.com/fantasy/the-auction-draft/

Hi, this is my first year playing ottoneu and I love it. The disclaimer above the pitchers on the lineup page says “SP must be used as SP and RP must be used as RP.” How is this tracked? Raisel Iglesias has RP/SP eligibility. Does this mean I would not get credit for his stats if I put him in an RP slot? Alternatively Kenley Jansen also RP/SP eligibility. Would his stats not count if I put him in an SP slot? Thanks.

Good question. The answer is that the SP/RP eligibility really doesn’t matter in Ottoneu the same way it does for position players. You only receive credit for points/stats that accumulate from the P in slot they are actually playing in MLB that day. For instance you could place a reliever like Dylan Bundy in the SP slot but he will only accrue points that day if he started the game for BAL. Likewise, if you place Iglesias in your RP slot, he’d only accrue stats if he did not start the game for CIN (he’d have to come into the game later as a true reliever to get stats counted. In essence Ottoneu tracks all this automatically for P, so you can neither mess it up or game the system.

Hey guys, I’m a fresh ottoneu player this year, and I was just wondering how people organise their trades. Do they send trade proposals straight away, or do they message the other person and try and hash out a deal through chatting? Im just wondering what the best way is, people take a long time to reply to messages sometimes, but you can find out more that way. Cheers

1 Like