Allowing a new manger to arb after arb is closed

A new owner who claimed a team is asking if he can allocate arb to other teams since the previous owner didn’t participate. Is that allowed?

It’s a league decision. If it’s just one owner, then it’s not terribly difficult for the commissioner to tweak a dozen or so salaries. So certainly possible; the question is whether you should.

The reason not to do it is that transactions may have already occurred with the assumption that salaries following arbitration were final for 2023.

At this point, I’d be inclined to not allow it. FWIW.

4 Likes

Thanks Walt. You’re response was very helpful. We did not allow it.

2 Likes