Automating the 40 man roster

Hey guys, at this point I’m not even sure if it is possible but I started to automate the process of setting the 40 man roster (based on Trey’s roster guideline (great article btw @LuckyStrikes) , even if it is just to get an indication of major holes, or how the team looks as an actual roster rather than a list of players on the Ottoneu Roster overview.

Basically the user needs to put in the league and the team number (dropdown based on league). The rosters will then be loaded, most valuable positions assigned (based on C, SS, 2B, 3B, OF, and 1B), ranked per position and then assigned to the 40 man roster. Prospects definitely are still in the works.

The file is in Google sheets here. (PS: the blue / orange indicates if a player is on the 40 man roster)

My question to you is if you know if something like this already exists or has been tried before, and if it can be done in a valuable manner? Right now I’m just learning Google Sheets, and I don’t have to manually create my own 40-man roster, so I’ll get something out of it regardless.

Cheers,
RJ

PS I got most info from @LuckyStrikes , @vibbot and Tanner Bell (is he even playing Ottoneu?)

2 Likes

This is excellent, thanks RJ!

Cheers Graham.
I have made some updates today to load in more league info (budget and number of players per team, etc.) and keeper indicator so the 40-man roster will only be filled with keepers. This shows me where my gaps are, which I then can use to look at the free agents per position for the selected league.