Ensuring football teams can field a lineup

Hi Niv
I know I’m new to these posts and it is not about extending the trade deadline. My issue is I’m in a league that a player has constantly not fielded a roster but has 9 college players on this roster. I understand about rebuilding because I’ve been playing Ottenue for at least 8 years. By not fielding a roster he is throwing games that is not fair to other owners. Is there any way to penalize this Owner by removing him from the league or taking away all college players away from his roster until his roster is somewhat legit.This is totally BS. If nothing can be done than I will just stop playing in Ottenue.

Here is a long thread about fielding a real team in baseball:

End of the day, this is one of the roles of your commissioner - to set expectations on fielding a real team and then enforce them however the league sees fit. I recommend discussing this with your league, and will leave this thread open in case any other football commissioners want to chime in.

2 Likes

I will add that it is entirely appropriate to admonish managers for not fielding full teams and, if a manager repeatedly flouts that request, replacing them is also pretty reasonable.

2 Likes

I echo Niv. The commissioner has the power to do just about whatever he so wishes. I commish a league myself and this is what I would do:

(1) Initiate a conversation with the whole league, ask the manager in question to explain why he is managing the roster this way, and invite the rest of the league to chime in with their thoughts.

(2) Welcome ideas on how to do create and enforce rules around having a valid roster.

(3) Vote on those ideas.