Evaluating Trades

This is my first year playing Ottoneu and came here cause I am a baseball lifer and wanted to play a fantasy game with devoted smart hardcore competitive baseball fans who really play the game like general managers and the salary/budget aspect intrigued me a lot compared to other types of FB…I have been attempting to make more than fair trades the last week and have been turned down constantly…Look at these 2 trade offers and tell me why would somebody turn them down? I want all of your opinions on which side wins the trade…Both of these were not money or salary related at all for why they turned it down

1st Offer Aaron Nola. Edwin Diaz, Marcus Semien. Chris Bassitt and Josh Naylor for
Wander Franco, Andrew Vaugn, Laars Nootbaar, Edward Cabrera and D.L. Hall…The Diaz side was what I offered and was turned down…

2nd Offer Edwin Diaz for Bryan Reynolds and Felix Bautista…The Diaz side was what I offered and was turned down…

Can anyone tell me why an experienced manager in a FG points Ottoneu league would turn down both Diaz sides of these offers if money and salary was not an issue whatsoever…?

Welcome to Ottoneu!

Ultimately, the other owners preferred what they had over your offers, that’s really what it comes down to.

Player salary is central to the strategy of Ottoneu so it is hard to believe that money would not have factored into these decisions. Without knowing anything about the rosters in question, I’d suspect the players you offered were more costly, as they are older, more established players and the ones you are seeking are well known, younger (and likely more affordable) players.

I’ve found the best strategy is to message owners indicating who on their team you have interest in and asking for a list of players on your team they like. This way you can avoid accidentally insulting owners with lopsided offers or accidentally over paying yourself.

5 Likes