Figuring out the Cap

This is my first year to play Fantasy Baseball with Ottoneu and I still run into issues I guess that were not explained to me enogh after I took over this team…The area I am confused about now is the Cap…I am working on a potential trade and if I make the deal, my budget will be $374.00, 26 dollars under my max, however the trade details also told me if I make this deal my cap would be at $-16…What does this mean? Am I able to complete a trade even if it says I will be in negative cap…And how much money is in my cap and where should I keep my cap at to avoid penalties,etc?

Good article that explains this here:Ottoneu 101: The Cap(ps) Space Dilemma | RotoGraphs Fantasy Baseball.

1 Like

Post the trade (if you don’t want to specify specific players, just salaries will suffice) along with your current cap and open slots and someone can help walk you through it. I don’t know that we can really offer much advice based on what you’ve shared thus far about your current situation.

Am I able to complete a trade even if it says I will be in negative cap

Yes, but you will have to make cuts to make your team legal after the trade, including possibly cutting players you just acquired. I have a plan for how to make my roster legal before I bid on a player or make a trade.

And how much money is in my cap and where should I keep my cap at to avoid penalties,etc?

$400 = Salaries + Penalties - Incoming Loans + Outgoing Loans + Free Cap

Or equivalently

Free Cap = $400 - Salaries - Penalties + Incoming Loans - Outgoing Loans

You can also set up that equation as an accounting ledger (i.e., debits and credits). But that’s the basic Ottoneu accounting identity.