Pacing Out Games Played

I’m new to Ottoneu this year, and was wondering - when should I be concerned about games played? I’m used to maximizing playing time in other formats, so currently (3 weeks into the season) most of my positions are projecting more than 162 for the season. My fewest games (2B, 16 games) projects for 152 and my largest (C,3B 19 Games) paces for 180. Obviously, that gap will continue to grow if I continue my current strategy.

I imagine that the All Star Break will knock some of those projections down a bit. Should I be worried about these paces now, or just keep an easy eye on it and wait to dial in after the ASB? One strategy change I’m going to make is pulling players sitting for their game from my lineup so I don’t get stuck with a PH appearance, so that should help a little too.

There’s no exact science to it, I don’t think (unless you wanted to take a REALLY deep dive into the schedules). You just kind of play your best available player if/when he’s available and, when he’s not, decide whether the bench player’s matchup is worth burning a GS on (if you have a bench player that you’re never interested in playing, then reconsider whether he’s worth rostering).

At this point in the season, I just want to be at or on pace for 162 or more games at all positions because hitting the games played caps is critical. Also, I’m trying to make sure that they’re all roughly equal (e.g., if 2B is at 180 and MI is at 130, then I’ll start moving my 2B to MI when there are off-days). If you’re running too far ahead, then you want to just play favorable matchups (e.g., only start McMahon against RHP at home) for a bit.

2 Likes