Platoon/lineup value

I’m new to Ottoneu and I’m wondering if there is any way to calculate/quantify the value of players when you consider their platoon splits or changes to where they bat in the lineup? A player like Lane Thomas comes to mind. He was much worse against RHP and he was also much worse when they moved him out the leadoff spot. Can we calculate his overall value compared to what his value was against LHP and when he was batting leadoff? Maybe a team’s overall value increases if you have a replacement level player to substitute in for players with these types of splits? Thanks

This is always a fun question, as ottoneu’s large rosters really let you take advantage of platoons–real or imagined. You can use players in real-life platoons, who may have points per game suppressed by their role, but also players on the margins with everyday roles and real-life splits that can be used to your advantage.

Keeping things pretty general, as I personally don’t have any hard and fast rules, I compare P/G and P/PA for the former, diving into points per start (using baseball-reference to get GS data) for players that jump out in that comparison. For full-time players, though handedness splits take forever to stabilize, you can find marginal overall players with noticeable splits (usually you want to focus on advantageous strong side players, from a playing time perspective), and then build a viable starter Frankenstein-style. If I’m rostering the depth to do so, I’ll also take career splits and use those to inform daily start-sit decisions, with some bias toward current season (the “imagined” platoons from earlier).

For lineup order, there have been a few articles showing how many PA occur on average for each lineup slot. For an ottoneu bent, there’s this older article with a PA/GS chart: