Ottoneu Budgeting

So, I am new to this format but really excited to dig in.

From a $400 budget, how much money should I leave after the draft to be able to make moves in season? What are the rules of thumb? What are some typical ratios for the following?

Hitters vs Pitchers
Active vs Bench

I am assuming that I would leave $10-15 for in season moves. Then spend the remainder in a 65/35 break down for hitters and pitchers.

Are most bench players usually $1-2 players?

Thanks for any advice you can give.

Some scattered thoughts (apologies in advance for the length)…

In terms of how much you leave the table with, it really depends on the dynamics of the auction. I’ve had auctions where I spent up to limit and others where I leave the table with $50 or so (rarely). Usually it’s the latter that I regret more than the former (i.e., more likely to look back at the bidding and wish that I had gone a $1 more on a player that I didn’t win). I budget $20, but sometimes I’ll eat into that if I have to go a few bucks over what I want to spend on a particular player. There will nearly always be injuries or something else that comes up that compels you to cut players, so you can free up roster space for in-season FAs when the opportunity arises.